Pursuant to Section 13 or 15(d) of the

Securities Exchange Act of 1934

Date of Report (Date of Earliest Event Reported): April 17, 2012



Erie Indemnity Company

(Exact name of registrant as specified in its charter)




Pennsylvania   0-24000   25-0466020

(State or other jurisdiction

of incorporation)



File Number)


(I.R.S. Employer

Identification No.)

100 Erie Insurance Place, Erie, Pennsylvania   16530
(Address of principal executive offices)   (Zip Code)

Registrant’s telephone number, including area code: (814)870-2000

Not Applicable

Former name or former address, if changed since last report



Check the appropriate box below if the Form 8-K filing is intended to simultaneously satisfy the filing obligation of the registrant under any of the following provisions:


¨ Written communications pursuant to Rule 425 under the Securities Act (17 CFR 230.425)


¨ Soliciting material pursuant to Rule 14a-12 under the Exchange Act (17 CFR 240.14a-12)


¨ Pre-commencement communications pursuant to Rule 14d-2(b) under the Exchange Act (17 CFR 240.14d-2(b))


¨ Pre-commencement communications pursuant to Rule 13e-4(c) under the Exchange Act (17 CFR 240.13e-4(c))




Item 5.07 Submission of Matters to a Vote of Security Holders.

(a) The 87th Annual Meeting of Shareholders (the “Annual Meeting”) of Erie Indemnity Company (the “Company”) was held on April 17, 2012. On the record date for the Annual Meeting, the Company had 2,545 shares of Class B common stock outstanding which had the exclusive right to vote on all matters presented for consideration at the meeting.

(b) At the Annual Meeting, shareholders of the Company re-elected all 13 incumbent directors to serve on the Company’s Board of Directors for a one-year term. The names of the elected directors and voting results appear below.


     For    Withheld    Abstained    Broker Non-Votes

J. Ralph Borneman, Jr.

   2,524    0    0    0

Terrence W. Cavanaugh

   2,524    0    0    0

Jonathan Hirt Hagen

   2,524    0    0    0

Susan Hirt Hagen

   2,524    0    0    0

Thomas B. Hagen

   2,524    0    0    0

C. Scott Hartz

   2,524    0    0    0

Claude C. Lilly, III

   2,524    0    0    0

Lucian L. Morrison

   2,524    0    0    0

Thomas W. Palmer

   2,524    0    0    0

Martin P. Sheffield

   2,524    0    0    0

Richard L. Stover

   2,524    0    0    0

Elizabeth Hirt Vorsheck

   2,524    0    0    0

Robert C. Wilburn

   2,524    0    0    0

Item 8.01 Other Events.

At its meeting on April 17, 2012, the Board of Directors of Erie Indemnity Company approved the following dividend on shares of Erie Indemnity Company Class A common stock:

Class A Rate Per Share: $0.5525

Dividend Number: 326

Declaration Date: April 17, 2012

Ex-Dividend Date: July 3, 2012

Record Date: July 6, 2012

Payable Date: July 20, 2012


Pursuant to the requirements of the Securities Exchange Act of 1934, the registrant has duly caused this report to be signed on its behalf by the undersigned hereunto duly authorized.


    Erie Indemnity Company
April 18, 2012     By:  

/s/ Marcia A. Dall

    Name:   Marcia A. Dall
    Title:   Executive Vice President and CFO